The Stakeholders Committee is a high-level forum that enables members of the FMA review, discuss and interrogate matters concerning stakeholders in the Fund Management industry. These include the following:

  1. Kenyan & Regional Regulators: Some of them being, Capital Markets Authority (CMA), Retirement Benefits Authority (RBA), Central Bank of Kenya (CBK), Insurance Regulatory Authority (IRA); Kenya Deposit Insurance Corporation (KDIC).
  2. Professional Bodies – CFA Society East Africa, Institute of Certified Public Accountants (ICPAK), Institute of Certified Public Secretaries of Kenya (ICPSK); Institute of Certified Investment & Financial Analysts (ICIFA); Chartered Institute for Securities & Investments (CISI)
  3. Legislative arm of government – Parliament and the Senate.
  4. Other Government Bodies – National Treasury, Unclaimed Financial Assets Authority (UFAA), Council of Governors,
  5. Industry Associations – Association of Kenya Insurers (AKI), Kenya Association of Stockbrokers and Investment Bankers (KASIB), Scheme Administrators, Custodians; Association of Retirement Benefits Schemes (ARBS), Kenya Institute of Bankers (KIB), Kenya Bankers Association (KBA), Riets Association on Kenya (RAK), Association of Collective Investment Schemes (ACIS)
  6. Educational Institutions – Universities, College of Insurance
  7. Multilateral institutions – World Bank/IFC, IMF, African Development Bank (AfDB) etc
  8. International Partners – Association for Savings and Investment South Africa (ASISA)


The SHC is an appointed Committee of the FMA for the purposes described above. The Committee shall Report to the FMA Executive Council.


  1. To engage with stakeholders on important developments affecting the Fund Management industry for mutual benefit;
  2. To propose responses to existing and emerging issues identified;
  3. To enhance the relationship between stakeholders and the FMA and raise its profile;


  1. The Committee comprises appropriately senior practitioners from key active FMA member firms. Members are invited by the Chair due to their seniority, and experience in combination with the level of appropriate market activity.
  2. The Chair will be deputised by a Vice-Chair
  3. Generally membership is on an individual rather than on a firm basis. Therefore, a member who steps down cannot automatically pass on their seat to a replacement within their firm.

Organisation of the Committee

  1. Meetings will be held a minimum of four times per year but can be held more frequently if required. Members should attend the meetings themselves.
  2. Agendas will be circulated one week in advance of meetings. The Committee may create temporary sub-committees as required in the light of market developments with agreed terms of reference.
  3. In some instances the meetings can be held via Tele-conferencing.


  1. Draft non-attributable minutes of meetings will be circulated to members and when these have been agreed by the Committee, they will be adopted by the committee.
  2. Decisions of the Committee will usually be made by general consensus but the Chair may ask for a decision by majority vote if agreement cannot otherwise be reached.
  3. The committee requires a 50% attendance, in addition to the Chair, to be quorate. If the committee is not quorate then meetings may proceed, however, the committee shall not be able to make decisions.


The Executive Council will evaluate the performance of the Committee. The performance of the Committee will be assessed against the accomplishment of yearly objectives/deliverables. This review will take place immediately prior to the Annual General Meeting.


Committee reports will be provided in writing, to the Executive Council (EC) no later than one week following each meeting; a summary report at EC meetings and a final report at the Annual General Meeting (AGM).

Current Members:

  1. Einstein Kihanda: ICEA LION Asset Management – Chief Executive Officer (Chair)
  2. Patrick Kariuki: GenAfrica Asset Managers Managing Director (Vice Chair)
  3. Jonathan Stichbury: Sanlam Investment East Africa – CEO
  4. Jude Ayiko: Britam Asset Managers – CEO
  5. David Gitau: CIC Asset Management – Portfolio Manager
  6. Michael Kimondo: Fusion Investment Management – Executive Director
  7. Edward Wachira: Genghis Capital – Chief Commercial Officer
  8. Rebecca Tiba: Madison Investment Managers – General Manager
  9. Ewart Salins: Dry Associates Investment Bank – CEO
  10. Simon Ikua: African Alliance Investment Bank – CEO